Additional Information

Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...
Read About Faith & Gift Giving
Who is My Patron Saint?

Find Saint Name Starting with...

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Heart Picture Lockets in Gold
Gold and Silver Picture Lockets

What is Gothic Jewelry?


Gothic Jewelry

Jewelry that is considered gothic is some of the most fascinating pieces of jewelry in the entire world. Most Gothic jewelry is truly breathtaking and it can really capture people's attention. There are actually many negative stereotypes that are associated with gothic items, but it certainly never fails to capture attention. Overall, gothic pieces reflect an aristocratic society with chivalrous ethics and many different elements of symbolism. When it was first created, gothic jewelry was often part of the modern attire. It took form in brooches, belt clasps, and other fastening devices.

Many gothic pendants center around the pentagram symbol, a symbol that depicts power, protection, truth, and some of the darker forces of nature. There are many different designs, each of which differs in meaning. The different pentagram designs are as different as individuals. The basic designs come from ancient history and can be followed back for nearly 5,500 years. No matter what pentagram someone wears, they are taking along with them a large, rich, and even powerful history within the symbol.

Gothic jewelry has a mystical background that is hard for some people to understand. There are amulets featuring dark dragons, pendants of spider webs and many other examples. Viewers often get the feeling that the pieces were made in an age where there were lots of dark rooms within castles. The feeling behind many of the pieces is almost gloomy and lonely. Some of the jewelry pieces are even inscribed with letters from unknown languages that have long since been forgotten. This tends to scare people as much as the idea of a laying a spider web symbol close to their hearts.


Maltese Crosses

The Maltese cross is a cross made of four straight and pointed arrowheads. The tips look like the end of the arrow and in the center, where the bars meet, the arms form indented Vs. The Maltese cross did not come into the world until the mid to late 1500s. The now familiar eight pointed cross was not seen in paintings, drawings, or on seals until after that time.

The cross first appeared on the first Great seal of the Convent of St. John in Jerusalem. The arms of the cross were slightly fluted and this idea was later exaggerated into the Maltese cross as we see it today. The Maltese cross is also often called the Amalfi cross and it has often been identified as the symbol of Christian warriors or knights. The original knights that took up the symbol were from the island of Malta and the cross became one of the national symbols of Malta, hence its current name of the Maltese cross. The cross was later placed on pieces of Maltese currency and it is now featured on the back of two different Euro coins as of 2008.

The eight points of the cross are said to symbolize eight different points of courage. Those points include: loyalty, generosity, piety, glory and honor, bravery, contempt of death, respect for the church, and helpfulness. Religious orders in the era in which it was created also taught that the eight points represent the beatitudes and some have even applied secular meaning to the points, saying they represent the following traits of a good helper: observance, tactfulness, dexterousness, resourcefulness, discrimination, explicitness, perseverance, and sympathy.

In modern days, the Maltese cross has been used to show aviators their final approach point in an instrument used for precision. The Maltese cross, along with an eagle, the globe and an anchor are also used for the Sharpshooter badge of the US Marine Corps. Even motorcycle clubs in America use the Maltese cross in their insignia patterns.

Catholic Crosses

The cross is the most famous and well-recognized symbol of Christianity. It is a visible reminder of the way Jesus died and Christians believe that through that death, Christ brought salvation to the world as a whole. Many of the protestant traditions use the cross as a simple reminder of Christ and his deal with no other further symbolism. The Catholic crosses, however, have much more detail represented in their backgrounds.

The traditional crucifix is the most common style of a catholic cross. The crucifix is a regular cross with the body of Christ placed upon it. The very first crucifix shows up in Christian art by about 400 AD. Over the centuries, the way in which the body of Christ is shown upon the cross has changed. In the early church, his body does not show much suffering. During the middle ages, a look of anguish appeared on Christ's face as he hung on the crucifix crosses. The most common crucifix today depicts a dead Christ hanging on the cross.

The large variety of Catholic crosses brings a myriad of symbols to the Catholic faith. Some people wear certain Catholic crosses because they are simply attracted to one style over another. Others wear them because they know the symbolism behind the piece and enjoy the history of the item. Catholic crosses of many different styles can be found in Catholic gift shops and stores across the country. Now, websites also have a large range of options with a number of Catholic jewelry website options from which to choose. Catholic crosses make wonderful gifts for any special occasion, religious or not. People often give these crosses as gifts for baptisms, confirmations, communions or many other special occasions and events. The crosses are always great symbols of faith, but they also symbolize a deep and rich history as well as give off an air of aesthetic beauty.